Debut Concert. Kirsten Aage

/ 24. February 2019
3:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Experience Kirsten Aage’s soloist level debut from Det Kongelige Danske Musikkonservatorium. Together with a spectrum of other skilled musicians, recorder player Kirsten Aage spreads her musical wings in the Glyptotek’s beautiful Central Hall on Sunday 24th February from 3.00 to 5.00 p.m.

The pivotal point of the concert is anchored in the lore concerning the primeval power of nature and the elements. The programme is structured around music which is linked to the four elements: Earth – Water – Wind/Air – Fire. The fifth element – the perfect, heavenly element “quintessence” forms the finale of the concert.

About her choice of the Glyptotek to be the setting of her debut concert Kirsten Aage has this to say: “The connection to the lore of the elements and the Greek philosophers inspired me to perform the concert in the Central Hall of the Glyptotek. The beautiful acoustic and the natural light in the room create a special setting for the concert, and I am looking forward to presenting my instrument and the music of my heart at this debut concert.”

The concert will include premiers of works by Lars Kynde and Aya Yoshida as well as works by H. Kuribayashi, J.M. Hotteterre, J. H. Schmelzer, J.S. Bach and others.

JORD (EARTH) – primeval power from Japan and the Nordic Countries
Hideaki Kuribayashi 
Emu – 1976
Aya Yoshida (1992-)
Ma – 2019, premier
Yoshikawa Kengyo (1800/1808-1872)
Chidori no Kyoku. Improvisation and an arrangement of extracts from a poem from around the year 1100

VAND (WATER) – French baroque trickling down from the fountain ‘La Cascade de St. Cloud
Jacques-Martin Hotteterre (1673-1763)
Troisième suite, premier livre, opus 2 no. 3. Allemande (La Cascade de St. Cloud), Sarabande (La Guimon), Courante (L’indiferente) – Double, Rondeau (Le plaintif), Menuet (Le mignon), Gigue (L’Italienne)

–  Interval –

VIND (WIND) – superhumanly strong lungs and wind power
Lars Kynde (1981-)
Vindenes Korridorer – 2019 for converted bass recorder, premier

ILD (FIRE) – the wildness of the Italian baroque plus Fuego!
Johann Heinrich Schmelzer (1623-1680)
Sonata Quarta

QUINTESSENCE – The music of Bach is heaven
S. Bach(1685-1750)
Concerto in G major made up of arias from BWV 215 with one movement from BVW 1019.
Allegro – Largo – Allegro

Free admission once a normal ticket to the museum has been purchased. We recommend you arrive in plenty of time.

With the following musicians also taking part:
Helle Thun (soprano), Signe Arnfeldt Bastiansen (harp), Tinne Albrectsen and Ida Meidell Blylod (baroque violin), Mika Persdotter (baroque viola), Adam Grauman (viola da gamba) and Yngvild Vivja Haalund Ruud, (harpsichord).

Kirsten Aage (born 1986) makes her debut in 2019 from soloist level with Bolette Roed at Det Kongelige Danske Musikkonservatorium. Kirsten has also trained with Nikolaj Ronimus, Syddansk Musikkonservatorium & Skuespillerskole as well as with Carsten Eckert, Staatliche Hochschule für Musik, Trossingen. During her periods of study Kirsten has several times been in Japan in connection with concerts and for further studies of traditional and newly-composed Japanese music. She also has experience as a producer of concerts in the association Amager Klassisk’

The concert is supported by Statens Kunstfond and KODA Culture.